Best Thing About Working for Yourself

Worker Bee: Splat

Sometimes the best thing you can do for your business is to learn when to say ‘No thank you’.  You can’t say yes to every opportunity out there.  I can’t join every networking group and still be attentive to my current client base – even if they are not currently paying clients – they still need to be nurtured and not thrown by the wayside like a used piece of gum (I would never litter by throwing gum out the window).

As your own sales force, accounting department, marketing division, chief technical officer and worker bee, you cannot and should not say yes to every opportunity.  WHAT?!  You heard me!

Learn to say no thank you to some things and yes please to others.

Once you’ve reached to point of maximum output as worker bee (chief bread winner), then you can start expanding out by asking (paying) others to assist you.

Put on your own oxygen mask first.  Wait – that sounds like my next blog post!  No thank you – I’ll do that later.  Priorities first.  This hour’s priority is making dinner.

Leave a comment